Is Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Every chocolate is not gluten-free, only those which are made with pure cocoa have zero gluten content. Before going further let us know what is gluten and why it is not good for some people.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein that is found in plenty of grains such as wheat, barley, malt, rye, etc. It is a natural protein that acts as a binding agent to hold the food together and add little stretch to it. These are also known as prolamins and found in the endosperm part of the grain. It is a blend of two different classes of protein i.e gliadin and glutelin. The gliadin gives rise to the bread while baking whereas the second one provides the elasticity.

Why Gluten is not good for some people?

Some people are not able to digest the gluten due to celiac disease, their body produces abnormal responses during breaking the gluten-rich food. It does not provide any essential nutrients and develop inflammation and damage to the intestine system, which can lead to chronic diseases such as infertility, nerve damage, and osteoporosis. 

Does chocolate Contain Gluten?

Pure unsweetened chocolates do not contain gluten, whereas sweetened chocolates consist of gluten. If you are suffering from celiac disease then you need to read the ingredients carefully before buying the chocolate. But sometimes many chocolate brands do not mention the gluten on product packaging. Don’t worry the following points will help you to pick gluten-free chocolates -:

  • Avoid buying chocolate candy with cookies, as this chocolate product always contains gluten.
  • The chocolate candy with a crispy touch often contains prolamins, so do not buy them.
  • Also, the chocolate candies which are made on the same equipment on which gluten is also used to manufacture have higher chances of containing gluten.

Why are only a few numbers of Chocolate Gluten-Free?

It is best to buy Gluten Free chocolate gifts for those who are suffering from gluten sensitivity. But finding them is not an easy task because only a few brands manufacture these unsweetened chocolates. This is because its taste is not so good and many people find it tastes like dirt. It is much different from the sweet confectionery with which most of us are familiar.

Due to this, their sales are very less and only a few manufacturers prefer to take them to the market.

List of Chocolates Containing Gluten-:

The following chocolates contain Gluten -:

  • Pretzel M&MS
  • Mars Chocolate Bars
  • Original Milky Way Bars
  • Hershey’s Cookies N cream bar
  • Nestle kit kat bar
  • Butter finger crisp bar
  • Lindt Chocolate’s Lindor Truffles

List of Gluten-Free Chocolates -:

We have researched 10 gluten-free chocolate gift bars that are perfect for any occasion.

  • 3 musketeers bars
  • Snickers bar
  • Dove Chocolate
  • Milky Way Midnight and caramel bars
  • Vosges Haut Chocolat
  • Baby Ruth
  • Enjoy life boom chocolate bars
  • Oh Henry Milk chocolate bar
  • PayDay peanut caramel bar
  • Amy’s Dreamy Bar

Does White Chocolate contain Gluten?

Usually, pure white chocolate is made up of cocoa butter, milk, and sugar but many chocolate manufacturers add gluten in the white chocolate mix for strengthening the binding. If you are sensitive to gluten then it is vital to read labels. If it includes wheat, rye, or any other gluten grains then there is a high probability that chocolate contains gluten.

Negative Effects of Gluten-Free Diet?

Some people unnecessarily switch to a gluten-free diet. Avoidance of gluten by the people without celiac disease can lead to many health problems. Some of them are following -:

  • Increase the risk of Type 2 diabetes
  • The decrease in antioxidants and anti-inflammatory benefits
  • Lack of vital nutrients
  • Weight gain

Final Thoughts -:

Are you sensitive to gluten foods? You may think many of your favorite foods and chocolates are off-limits, but this is not true. You can consider the above-stated gluten-free chocolates to treat your taste buds. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *